Darkness Calls
Darkness Calls
Series
Cecilie Mars - Book 1
BUY NOW:

This page may contain affiliate links.

Release Date:May 16, 2023
Language:English
Format:Single Narration
Duration:8 hr, 45 min

***A Kirkus Reviews Best Indie Book of 2023**\

When a newly promoted police inspector becomes the target of a blackmailer, she struggles to clear her name. But is she fighting for justice—or revenge?   Police inspector Cecilie Mars is a different kind of cop. She has a heavy cocaine habit, fantasizes about vigilante violence, and constantly falls in love with men she shouldn’t. Late one night, while tailing a suspect, Mars makes an ill-fated choice that has far-reaching consequences. Unluckily for her, her misstep has been observed and filmed. Now, an anonymous foe is threatening to reveal the truth unless she submits to his terrifying agenda.   Inexorably, Mars is drawn into a sinister blackmail scheme that could derail her career. At the same time, she’s haunted by the feeling that the shadowy figure behind the threats is well known to her—and growing ever stronger. But who is he? And how far is she willing to go to stop him before she loses everything?   Perfect for fans of The Bridge and Netflix’s The Chestnut Man, Darkness Calls is the first book in a trilogy of hard-hitting, big-city thrillers from Scandinavian King of Crime Michael Katz Krefeld.

Praise for INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER Darkness Calls   “An intricate police procedural, taut with intrigue that explodes into terrifying violence, and a gritty depiction of a far-from-quaint Copenhagen characterized by cynical legal bureaucrats, grim concrete high-rises, and menacing street gangs . . . Energetic and colorful . . . but equally adept at evoking the queasy, claustrophobic feeling of victimization . . . [An] engrossing page-turner . . . featuring a pressure-cooker scenario, gripping action, and nerve-wracking psychological tension.” —Kirkus Reviews

“If you like fast-paced thrillers with unpredictable plot lines that pit good versus evil—with some of that Nordic noir atmosphere—then Michael is certainly the author read.” —Crime Fiction Lover _ _ “A brilliantly . . . gripping thriller.” —Politiken

“Krefeld’s best crime novel to date.” —Jyllands-Posten

A brilliantly . . . gripping thriller.
Politiken
More From This SeriesSee All >
Death Before Dawn
Beast in the Night
More Titles You Might LikeSee All >
Celtic Clue
Omega
The Spy Who Hated Me
The Arrangement
The Burning Rooms
Fatal Alliance
Hide Me Away
I Swear to Tell
Unspeakable Magic
Ragnarok

Stay Up to Date

with your favorite stories and storytellers