Now Comes the Mist
BUY NOW:

This page may contain affiliate links.

Release Date:October 1, 2024
Language:English
Format:Single Narration
Duration:Coming Soon

Dracula’s Lucy Westenra like you’ve never seen her before: In this retelling from critically acclaimed author Julie C. Dao, the perfect woman bites back.

  Lucy Westenra is beautiful, rich, loved by three men—every inch a lady. But beneath this sparkling, flirtatious facade, she is fascinated by death, which has stalked her throughout her short life. For her, the dead do not slip away easily, as they do for her best friend, Mina; they linger.   When Lucy departs for Whitby, her nightly sleepwalks introduce her to the mysterious Vlad, who seems to see parts of her she has never let show before. Vlad makes her an offer: Every century, he seeks out the “perfect woman of the age,” who embodies all the values of her society, to live with him in immortality—and Lucy could very well be this woman. For the first time, she feels herself able to share her darker side with someone. Thinking herself dreaming, she agrees to cheat death with him.   When Vlad finally appears in the light, it is aboard a ship covered in corpses. He toys with Lucy and mocks her in Mina’s presence. And one night, he drains a corpse dry right before her eyes. He is a vampire, a monster ready to take her. He expects a good Victorian lady, appalled by his darkness, a victim. But Lucy is only enraptured. When Vlad reacts with violence, Lucy has no choice but to fight for her agency, even if it means giving up her humanity. And her tormentor will soon find she is no easy opponent . . .   The first book of a duology that retells Dracula from the point of view of Lucy Westenra, this gothic romance is perfect for fans of Penny Dreadful and Danielle L. Jensen.

“A lush, thoughtful, seductive reimagining of the Dracula mythos that had me under its thrall from page one, Dao’s darkly dreamy book will leave you thirsting for more. Let Lucy sink her teeth into you and draw you into her new world.” —Kiersten White, #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Hide, Mister Magic,_ _and Lucy Undying

“This novel will leave you breathless and make you question what you thought you knew about the original tale. Julie C. Dao is the master of nuanced, complex female leads who will not just demand but forcibly take exactly what they deserve.” —Beth Revis, New York Times–bestselling coauthor of Night of the Witch

“A wonderful read! I was spellbound by this vivid reimagining of a Dracula myth that is at once enthralling, haunting, and darkly romantic.” —Sue Lynn Tan, USA Today–bestselling author of Daughter of the Moon Goddess

“Dazzling, sensual, sparkling with danger. Lucy Westenra is a force of nature in Dao’s capable hands, taking control of her own story with a vengeance long overdue. A vibrant, chilling reimagining that feels wholly its own.” —Natalie Mae, author of the Kinder Poison trilogy

“A sultry gothic that hooked me from the first sentence. Every page of this lush Dracula retelling is imbued with danger and darkness. It’s a beguiling book and one I can’t recommend enough.” —Alexis Henderson, author of _The Year of the Witching _

“Prepare to be swept away by this tale of romance, power, and immortality as Dao’s enchanting Lucy Westenra fully embodies the dark feminine lurking within us all.” —Jessica Rubinkowski, author of The Bright & the Pale

“Wild, wicked, sensuous fun. Now Comes the Mist is for all the dark romantics, the lovers of drama, and the ones who want to get bitten.” —Wendy Xu, bestselling author and illustrator of The Infinity Particle

More Titles You Might LikeSee All >
I Am the GOAT
The Witch of Tophet County
Puzzle House
Down in the Hollow
Peak
Zen in the Art of Slaying Vampires

Stay Up to Date

with your favorite stories and storytellers